An Interview with Another Minimalist

Today I’d like you to see where my motivation for becoming a minimalist came from.  If you’ve read through my other posts, Minimalism: How I came to be a Minimalist, you know that my own experience with minimalism sprouted when I fell in love with Dustin, my boyfriend and best friend.  He’s a handsome, intelligent and encouraging individual with an abundance of knowledge and advice about minimalism and other worldly things.   I decided to ask him a few questions about himself and his minimalist journey so I could share them with all of you!  Please enjoy this casual interview, (conducted over face-time) and some recent and some not-so-recent photos.  Without further ado, I give you an interview with another minimalist.

IMGP1748

What is your name?

Dustin.

Describe yourself in three words:

Curious, passionate, and self-driven.

Describe me (Amanda) in three words:

Neurotic, lovable, and empathetic.

What do you do in your spare time?

I read religious philosophy.  I listen to the Philosophize This podcasts, and I play The Witcher 3.

What are you studying?

Soil and waste management.

IMGP2292

How did you discover minimalism?

I discovered minimalism through Zen Buddhism and Zen Habits.

How long have you considered yourself a minimalist?

3 years.

How has minimalism changed your life?

I’m actually (genuinely) happy.  I started to achieve my goals and became the person I wanted to be.  I’ve become more connected with who I am as an individual.  My anxiety has been eliminated.  Minimalism helped me with finding a meaningful relationship with someone who shares my values.

What was the hardest thing for you to get rid of?

Sentimental items, book collection.

What’s something you no longer purchase?

I no longer purchase books, well, physical books.  I don’t keep up with buying the newest electronics.

What are your goals with minimalism?

I would like to have a more uniform wardrobe.  Financially I’d like to pay off my college loans.  I’d also like to continue reconnecting with my spirituality.

One piece of advice?

Start with your shopping habit, you’ve got to get rid of your shopping habit.  Create a budget/plan and stick to it!  For me, telling myself I can’t afford something helped, but in order for that to be effective, you have to define what “affording” means to you.  Will it be beneficial to you in the long run?  When downsizing, save the things that you like for last.  Those things are habits and habits take a long time to change.

 Anything you want to add?

I love you and I’m happy to start our new minimalist life together in a 500 sqft apartment with your cat who doesn’t love me back.

Thanks for listening!

-Amanda and Dustin

Leave a Reply

